Local Attractions

Holy Cross Village
Imagine a beautiful historic village set like a jewel in the heart of the Golden Vale.

Peaceful, yet with an inner vitality that is unique.
Imagine also an ancient Abbey casting a long shadow by the beautiful river Suir – such is the village of Holycross, proclaiming a way of life that the visitor will find memorable.
Stay with the friendliest people in Ireland. Take a stroll and chat with the locals about hurling, horse racing and history. You’ll never forget your visit.

Holycross AbbeyHolycross Abbey
Holycross Abbey was founded in 1180AD by King Donal Mor O’ Brien and was renovated and added to during the 15th Century. It became a place of Pilgrimage when a relic of the true Cross was presented to the Cistercians Monks.

The Monasteries were suppressed by King Henry VIII during the 16th Century. The Abbey was abandoned circa 1650 and fell into ruin. The late Dr. Morris, Archbishop of Cashel and Emly, inspired the reconstruction of the Abbey, which was roofed by a team of local craftsmen, reopened in 1975.

The best known events of the year include;Padre Pio Pilgrimage Day last Sunday in May, Fatima Devotions Day Last Sunday in August.

Admission to the Abbey is free, guided tours available.

Abbey shop is open May to October,
Solemn Novena to our Lady of Perpetual Succour 8th Sept. to 16th Sept. inclusive.

Sunday Masses 9 and 11 am 4pm.
Sat night. 7pm Weekly morning Mass 10 am.
Tel: 0504 43241/43124 Website: http://www.holycrossabbey.ie/

Farney CastleFarney Castle
Open Monday to Saturday 10 am-6pm Free parking.
Tel: 0504 43281. Fax: 0504 43357  Email: farneycastle@eircom.net

Historic Farney Castle, featured in the Michelin Guide, was built in 1495 and added to in 1795. It is the house of Irish international designer Cyril Cullen, his wife Margie and their four daughters, the renowned"Cullen Harpers". At the Castle Shop one may purchase Cyril's unique handmade knitwear designs and his fine porcelains, which are produced int he Castle Courtyard.

The unique sweaters from the natural undyed fleece of the Jacob Sheep are a speciality. Tours of the castle daily.

Harp recitals by appointment.

Thurles CathedralCathedral of the Assumption

Consecrated in 1879, it is the most impressive edifice in Thurles, the building of which commenced in 1861 during the time of archbishop Dr.Patrick Leahy.

His monument now stands in the cathedral forecourt. The Cathedral was renovated in 1979, and again in 2005. It has splendid features and a strong presence of the Romanesque style similar to Cormac’s Chapel on the Rock of Cashel.

 

Croke Memorial

This memorial statue to Most Rev.Thomas William Croke, D.D. Archbishop of Cashel and Emly, was erected in 1922, as a tribute to one of the great founders and supporters of the G.A.A. and indeed all organizations of Irish nationality. He retired from public life in 1896 and died on 22 of July 1902.

1798 Memorial

This monument features a life-size figure of a pike-man. Busts of Wolfe Tone, Lord Edward Fitzgerald and Robert Emmet are to be found on the sides of the base. The statue was unveiled on the 17th of March 1900.

Hayes Hotel

The Gaelic Athletic Association was founded here on November lst 1884 by Most Rev.Thomas William Croke, Michael Cusack and Maurice Davin. The plaque at the entrance to the hotel was erected during the Golden Jubilee celebrations in 1934.

St Mary's Famine and War MuseumSt Mary’s Famine and War Museum

Located off Cathedral Street by St Mary’s Lane the exhibitions are numerous and give an insight into the conditions of the Great Famine Period (1845-1850) and how it affected Thurles and its neighbourhood during that period.

Hours of opening: Mid May - Mid Sept.

10:00am - 1:00pm

2:00pm - 5:00pm or by Special Appointment

Tel: 0504-21133.

 Mobile: 086 8785859

Sunday Services: Third Sunday of each month at 9:00am

Lár na Pairce

Lár na Pairce is an exciting visitor centre designed and equipped to tell the story of Gaelic Games from earliest times. Officially opened by former Úachtaran na hÉireann Mary Robinson in 1984 the centre serves as a location for commercial and cultural interests. Located just 200 metres from the town square in a most imposing 19th century former bank building. Lár na Pairce also houses a G.A.A. Shop offering a wide range of merchandise.

The exhibits housed in the centre display Hurling, Gaelic, Football, Camogie, Handball and extend to Cuchulainn, Landlords, Hurley Making and broadcasting. Of particular interest is the famous Sam Melbourne Collection, a personal lifetime collection of sporting memorabilia.

Thurles town is an appropriate location for Lár na Pairce for it was here in Hayes Hotel that the Gaelic Athletic Association, the worlds largest amateur association was founded on 1st November 1884. Indeed there is special reference to the founders in the centre. However the ancient game of hurling was popular long before the foundation of the G.A.A.

The Source Arts Centre 

This fabulous centre opened in Autumn 2006 and sits on the bank of the River Suir in central Thurles - the heart of Tipperary. A year round programme of events for all, ranging from drama, music, dance, ballet, film, children’s events and visual art make this The Source of Entertainment in Tipperary!

The Source Arts Centre, Cathedral Street, Thurles, County Tipperary

Call for free brochure ·

 Box Office: 0504 90204

Website:

www.thesourceartscentre.ie

Thurles PublicLibrary atThe Source

 Tel: 0504-29720

Fax: 0504-21344

Open 10:00am-5:30p.m


Late opening Tues/Thurs 8:30

Fri/Sat 10:00am - 1:00pm & 2:00pm - 5:00pm

 COMPUTER INTERNET FACILITIES

Tipperary Libraries is also the home of theCounty Tipperary Historical Society.Tipperary Local studies and Archives collection located at the Source.
Genealogy, valuable information, records, census manuscripts returns, maps, etc.

Staff members are happy to offer help to visitors interested in genealogy and tracing the family roots