Holycross Abbey has a rich and interesting history. Holycross Abbey is a restored medieval Cistercian monastery on the banks of the River Suir in Co. Tipperary. A relic of the True Cross drew pilgrims from far and wide since its foundation by Dónal Mór Ó Briain, King of Limerick, in 1182AD. Around 1400AD the Butlers of Ormond were patrons and many renovations were carried out. A second relic, the Ormond Relic, was enshrined in the Abbey. Many of the unique architectural features date from the 15th century rebuild.
Important dates in Holycross Abbey History:
- Founded in 1182 AD by Dónal Mór Ó Briain, King of Limerick.
- Reconstructed 1400 to 1450 AD under the patronage of the Earls of Ormond.
- Dissolved about 1540 AD.
- The last monk Fr. Edmund Cormack Died 1735.
- 1970 – 1975 The Abbey Church was Restored.
- 1979 – 1983 The West Range was Restored.
- 1984 – 1985 The East Range was reconstructed as a Curate’s Residence.
- Now the Abbey is the Parish Church of Holycross-Ballycahill.
For information on guided tours please click below: