Holy Cross Village
Imagine a beautiful historic village set like a jewel in the heart of the Golden Vale.
Peaceful, yet with an inner vitality that is unique.
Imagine also an ancient Abbey casting a long shadow by the beautiful river Suir – such is the village of Holycross, proclaiming a way of life that the visitor will find memorable.
Stay with the friendliest people in Ireland. Take a stroll and chat with the locals about hurling, horse racing and history. You’ll never forget your visit.
Holycross Abbey was founded in 1180AD by King Donal Mor O’ Brien and was renovated and added to during the 15th Century. It became a place of Pilgrimage when a relic of the true Cross was presented to the Cistercians Monks.
The Monasteries were suppressed by King Henry VIII during the 16th Century. The Abbey was abandoned circa 1650 and fell into ruin. The late Dr. Morris, Archbishop of Cashel and Emly, inspired the reconstruction of the Abbey, which was roofed by a team of local craftsmen, reopened in 1975.
The best known events of the year include;Padre Pio Pilgrimage Day last Sunday in May, Fatima Devotions Day Last Sunday in August.
Admission to the Abbey is free, guided tours available.
Please see the Shop Section of this Website for the opening hours.
Solemn Novena to our Lady of Perpetual Succour 8th Sept. to 16th Sept. inclusive.
Sunday Masses 11am and 4pm.
Sat night. 7pm Weekly morning Mass 10 am.
Tel: 0504 43241/43124 Website: http://www.holycrossabbey.ie/
Open Monday to Saturday 10 am-6pm Free parking.
Tel: 0504 43281. Fax: 0504 43357 Email: email@example.com
Historic Farney Castle, featured in the Michelin Guide, was built in 1495 and added to in 1795. It is the house of Irish international designer Cyril Cullen, his wife Margie and their four daughters, the renowned”Cullen Harpers”. At the Castle Shop one may purchase Cyril’s unique handmade knitwear designs and his fine porcelains, which are produced int he Castle Courtyard.
The unique sweaters from the natural undyed fleece of the Jacob Sheep are a speciality. Tours of the castle daily.
Harp recitals by appointment.
Cathedral of the Assumption
Consecrated in 1879, it is the most impressive edifice in Thurles, the building of which commenced in 1861 during the time of archbishop Dr.Patrick Leahy.
His monument now stands in the cathedral forecourt. The Cathedral was renovated in 1979, and again in 2005. It has splendid features and a strong presence of the Romanesque style similar to Cormac’s Chapel on the Rock of Cashel.
This memorial statue to Most Rev.Thomas William Croke, D.D. Archbishop of Cashel and Emly, was erected in 1922, as a tribute to one of the great founders and supporters of the G.A.A. and indeed all organizations of Irish nationality. He retired from public life in 1896 and died on 22 of July 1902.
This monument features a life-size figure of a pike-man. Busts of Wolfe Tone, Lord Edward Fitzgerald and Robert Emmet are to be found on the sides of the base. The statue was unveiled on the 17th of March 1900.
The Gaelic Athletic Association was founded here on November lst 1884 by Most Rev.Thomas William Croke, Michael Cusack and Maurice Davin. The plaque at the entrance to the hotel was erected during the Golden Jubilee celebrations in 1934.
St Mary’s Famine and War Museum
Located off Cathedral Street by St Mary’s Lane the exhibitions are numerous and give an insight into the conditions of the Great Famine Period (1845-1850) and how it affected Thurles and its neighbourhood during that period.
Hours of opening: Mid May – Mid Sept.
10:00am – 1:00pm
2:00pm – 5:00pm or by Special Appointment
Mobile: 086 8785859
Sunday Services: Third Sunday of each month at 9:00am
Lár na Pairce
Lár na Pairce is an exciting visitor centre designed and equipped to tell the story of Gaelic Games from earliest times. Officially opened by former Úachtaran na hÉireann Mary Robinson in 1984 the centre serves as a location for commercial and cultural interests. Located just 200 metres from the town square in a most imposing 19th century former bank building. Lár na Pairce also houses a G.A.A. Shop offering a wide range of merchandise.
The exhibits housed in the centre display Hurling, Gaelic, Football, Camogie, Handball and extend to Cuchulainn, Landlords, Hurley Making and broadcasting. Of particular interest is the famous Sam Melbourne Collection, a personal lifetime collection of sporting memorabilia.
Thurles town is an appropriate location for Lár na Pairce for it was here in Hayes Hotel that the Gaelic Athletic Association, the worlds largest amateur association was founded on 1st November 1884. Indeed there is special reference to the founders in the centre. However the ancient game of hurling was popular long before the foundation of the G.A.A.
The Source Arts Centre
This fabulous centre opened in Autumn 2006 and sits on the bank of the River Suir in central Thurles – the heart of Tipperary. A year round programme of events for all, ranging from drama, music, dance, ballet, film, children’s events and visual art make this The Source of Entertainment in Tipperary!
The Source Arts Centre, Cathedral Street, Thurles, County Tipperary
Call for free brochure ·
Box Office: 0504 90204
Thurles PublicLibrary atThe Source
Late opening Tues/Thurs 8:30
Fri/Sat 10:00am – 1:00pm & 2:00pm – 5:00pm
COMPUTER INTERNET FACILITIES
Tipperary Libraries is also the home of the County Tipperary Historical Society.Tipperary Local studies and Archives collection located at the Source.
Genealogy, valuable information, records, census manuscripts returns, maps, etc.
Staff members are happy to offer help to visitors interested in genealogy and tracing the family roots